For many, Snapchat has become an everyday activity. Sending snaps, texting, and posting snaps are wrapped into daily lives. The app makes connecting with colleagues, friends, families, and random people easier and fun. However, while the interface is simple enough, there are times when it could be confusing.
For instance, the difference between Add friend and Accept friend on Snapchat is unclear to some. While some think they’re the same, others are convinced they’re different. This article clarifies this confusion and answers other pressing questions about Snapchat’s features.
What Is The Difference Between ‘Add Friend’ And ‘Accept Friend’ On Snapchat?
The difference between Add friend and Accept friend on Snapchat is that Add suggests that you don’t follow each other and clicking on it would mean sending them a request that they can Accept to start interacting with you. While Accept implies that they have already sent you a friend request by clicking on Add from their account, accepting the request will allow you to start interacting with them.
You can Add anyone to your Snapchat by searching for their username and clicking on the Add button next to their account. You can also use your Snapchat camera to scan their snap code or the Quick Add option on Snapchat to add nearby users. You can also Accept anyone that has added you by clicking on Accept next to any of the accounts listed under Added me list on your Snapchat.
If you have previously deleted or unfriended someone on Snapchat, you will still see the Accept button next to their name because they still have you added as a friend on their account. However, if they have also removed or unfriended you, you will see the Add button instead.
Depending on your privacy settings, someone who has added you to their Snapchat will be able to see your story and message you. If you are on a private account, then only those you Accept will be able to see your story and message you.
Can you really Re-Add Someone On Snapchat Without Them Knowing
Unfortunately, there is no way to Add or Re-Add someone on Snapchat without them knowing. If you were previously friends and you unfriended them and decided to re-add them, they will be notified that you added them back, and they will be able to see your snap score again. Your name will also appear in their recents, at the top of their conversation list, and on their ‘Snapchatters who have added you back’ list, making it much more obvious that you just re-added them.
Additionally, if you were not already friends or the person unfriended you, and you want to add them, they will be notified that you added them. Therefore, the only option to re-add someone on Snapchat without them knowing is by having their phone with you when you add them so you can clear the notification before they see it.
Can You Accept Friend On Snapchat After Deleting Them?
Yes, you can Accept friend on Snapchat after deleting them. If you have previously deleted or unfriended someone on Snapchat, you will still see the Accept button next to their name because they still have you added as a friend on their account. You can click on the Accept button to accept them again. If they have also removed or unfriended you, you will see the Add button instead, and you can click on it to add them again.
Does Snapchat Notify Someone When You Accept Their Friend Request? How Do You Know?
Yes, Snapchat sends a notification when you accept someone’s friend request. However, one might miss the notification due to a glitch or network problems.
Asides from getting notified, when someone accepts or adds you back on their Snapchat, you should be able to see their snap score from their profile. You should also see them in your snap feed if they have a public account. Private account users have their privacy settings modified to only receive messages from close friends, so if you are a private user, you will know when someone adds you back when you receive a message they send. And if you add a private user, you will know that they have added you back when they see your messages.
Can You Send A Snap To Someone Who Hasn’t Added You?
If a person has a public Snapchat account, anyone can send them snaps, see their stories and message them. On the other hand, if the person has a private account, only those they have added and accepted, i.e., those on their friend list, can send them a message, snap or see their story.
Either way, when you send a snap to someone who has not added you, the snap will remain marked as pending (a grey arrow instead of blue). The only difference between the two is that the recipient with a public account will see that you have sent a snap, while the one with a private account will not see it or get notified until they add you.
How Do You Know If Somebody Unfriended You On Snapchat?
If somebody has unfriended you on Snapchat, you will no longer see their snap score, and they will not be listed on your friends list. You might still be able to see their story and message them, depending on their privacy settings. If they have a private account and you message them, it will be marked as Pending, and they will not be able to see it or respond if they have unfriended you. Otherwise, the message will still be marked as pending, but they will know you have sent them a message.
If they re-add you after unfriending you, you will get a notification saying that they added you back, and their name will come up on your recents list, the top of your conversation list, and your ‘Snapchatters who have added you back’ list.
Another way to tell would be to unfriend them – if you see the Add button, it means they have unfriended you. However, seeing the Accept button means they have not unfriended you, and you need to accept them back to be friends again. Sadly, they will be notified when you accept them again, but you can just blame it on a glitch.
Lastly, if someone unfriends you, but you haven’t unfriended them, their stories will appear under the Subscriptions section rather than the Friends section.
How To Find Someone On Snapchat Without Them Knowing
To find someone on Snapchat without them knowing, you can use their username or phone number. If you have their username, you can search for it to find them, and they will not be notified. If you have their phone number saved on your phone, you can allow Snapchat to access your contact list, and the person will be recommended to you, then you can see their profile.
To add friends on Snapchat through your contact list;
- Open Snapchat
- Tap the Add friends icon at the top right corner
- Click on All contacts next to Quick Add
- If you have not already allowed Snapchat to access your contact list, simply tap Continue on the All contacts page
- You should now see a Friends on Snapchat list gotten from your contacts
- Here, you will see all those on Snapchat in your contact list. You can also click on the Add button to add them
Another way to find someone on Snapchat without them knowing is by using the Quick Add feature to add nearby friends. The ‘Quick Add’ list comprises people in your location who are on Snapchat. So if the person you want to find is nearby, you can use this method. Follow steps 1 and 2 above; you should see the person you’re looking for under Quick Add.
You can also swipe down after opening Snapchat to see the snap map. This will show you a map with blue dots and Bitmojis on it to show you the Snapchatters in your location. You should note that this method will only work if the person you are trying to find has enabled their profile to be found using Find Nearby.
Social media can be a rollercoaster, especially for multi-feature apps like Snapchat. For example, it can become difficult to understand the difference between Add friend and Accept friend on Snapchat. However, after reading this article, you will become aware of some unknown Snapchat features and secrets.